Leave a comment

Proving You’re Gay to the Turkish Military

In Turkey, gay men are exempt from serving in the military. But they have to go to great lengths to prove they are gay:

”They asked me when I first had anal intercourse, oral sex, what sort of toys I played with as a child.”

Ahmet, a young man in his 20s, told officials he was gay at the first opportunity after he was called up, as he and other conscripts underwent a health check.

“They asked me if I liked football, whether I wore woman’s clothes or used woman’s perfume,” he says.

”I had a few days’ beard and I am a masculine guy – they told me I didn’t look like a normal gay man.”

He was then asked to provide a picture of himself dressed as a woman.

”I refused this request,” he says. ”But I made them another offer, which they accepted.” Instead he gave them a photograph of himself kissing another man.

Ahmet hopes this will give him what he needs – a “pink certificate”, which will declare him homosexual and therefore exempt from military service.

About Jen

Have been a jack of all trades. I'm a former philosopher who specialized in ethics and political philosophy. I'm a sex positive feminist.

Leave a Reply

