Leave a comment

Performing Bisexuality

There’s an article over at Bitch about performing bisexuality I (as a bisexual woman) really liked.

There are few songs I like less than Katy Perry’s “I Kissed A Girl.” I dislike most of her music (that skit she did with Elmo, however, is adorable),  but “I Kissed A Girl” bothers me most of all. You’d think such a song  would be tailor-made for me—after all, I have, in fact, kissed girls  and liked it! But it’s really not a song for me, or for any other queer  woman (even though I know queer women who like the song). It’s a song  for straight men who have “lesbian” fantasies in which femme women make  out with each other but don’t present any actual threat to male  sexuality and dominance. It’s a song for straight women who find the  idea of kissing other women to be a “scandalous” and fun way of  entertaining men, but who ultimately aren’t romantically or sexually  attracted to other women. It’s a song about false, constructed,  performed bisexuality, and it isn’t doing anything to help the  acceptance of non-monosexual folks.

About Jen

Have been a jack of all trades. I'm a former philosopher who specialized in ethics and political philosophy. I'm a sex positive feminist.

Leave a Reply

